Four dinners. One night.

My friend Steph and I both love eating. So on Thursday, we ventured out to my favorite part of Chicago, Lincoln Park for some delicious Korean-style wings from Crisp.

There is nothing like the taste of crisp fatty chicken skin and moist, tender meat that makes me happier–that is unless you smother it with a delicious sauce.

At Crisp, they double fry their massive wings, once in a presssure-fryer and once in a normal fryer. Then they drench the wings in their trademark sauce– “Seoul Sassy.” It’s a sweet, savory and tangy mixture of garlic, soy and sesame, basically perfection.

Right before we got to Crisp, we randomly stumbled upon a frozen yogurt opening off the Belmont stop. Like Yogurtland in Cali, this place had about 8 flavors ranging from Butter Pecan to Root Beer and Blackberry fro-yo and topping bar where you served yourself and paid by the pound. Overwhelmed by my choices, we both ended up eating almost 1/2 pound of froyo each. Great start to a delicious night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We ended our night with Spam Musubi at Aloha Eats and cupcakes from Molly’s Cupcakes. Words cannot describe how much I love both of these places.

Molly’s has a special place in my heart not only for its delicious cupcakes but also because it is named after the owner’s 3rd grade teacher, Molly, who baked him cupcakes on his birthday. Even more adorable is the entire store is made from furniture and old supplies from old schools.

Right next to Molly’s is Aloha Eats which I love because it reminds me so much of my childhood in Hawaii. They have amazing macaroni salad, great saimen (aka ramen) and of course, a Hawaiian tradition, Spam Musubi. Essentially a piece of pan-fried spam on rice and wrapped in seaweed, there is something so deliciously simple about Spam Musubi–even Obama loves it.

Walking around Lincoln Park reminded me of why I love Chicago so much. The people, the fresh air and of course the endless options for good food. One of these days, I plan on eating my way through Lincoln Park and Lakeview–from Armitage to Belmont, and it is going to be the best day of my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

